Durban, 8th July 2019: Currie Cup Head Coach, Sean Everitt today announced that Tera Mtembu and Jeremy Ward will co-captain the Cell C Sharks in the 2019 Currie Cup campaign.

These two players embody our values, have a strong work ethic and together they will work in unison to rally a group of talented players in a shortened competition.

Tera is no stranger to the captaincy role having captained the Cell C Sharks in the Vodacom Super Rugby and Currie Cup previously. He is a respected team man and will provide the necessary mentorship and support to Jeremy, who himself has always displayed strong leadership qualities having captained the SA/20 team at the World Championship in 2016.

Vodacom Super Rugby captain, Louis Schreuder has a broken toe and will miss the first few matches of the competition, therefore could not be considered.

Commenting on their appointments, Sean Everitt said: “The decision to go with co-captains will ensure leadership continuity on the field of play at all times. Both these players understand our diverse team culture and where we are heading collectively. More importantly they have the respect of the team and are natural leaders.

“I am a firm believer in the philosophy that every player should be a leader in their respective positions, however you do need your captain to be a voice of reason and someone with a calm head that the team can look to for direction during pressure situations. We have this in Tera and Jeremy.”

Everitt, also announced an exciting 39-man squad for the Currie Cup competition. Andrew Evans and Tyler Paul have not been included, at this stage, due to their current rehabilitation from long-term injuries.

Amongst the players named is a certain JP Pietersen, a legend of Sharks rugby who makes a welcome return to Durban, after spending some time abroad. Pietersen has been contracted until Currie Cup 2020, where after he will be developed within the age-group system for a future coaching role.

“I am excited to be back home and to be part of a familiar Sharks set-up. The Cell C Sharks have a group of talented young players in the system and I look forward to providing a mentorship role to these young players and playing in the black and white jersey once again”, added Pietersen.

“The prospect of being upskilled within the Sharks coaching development ranks is one that excites me. I am grateful for the opportunity and I am eager to give back to the game and more especially a team that believed in me and my poential.”

Cell C Sharks Currie Cup Squad

Bandisa Ndlovu
Coenie Oosthuizen
Craig Burden
Cullen Collopy
Dylan Richardson
Fezo Mbatha
Gideon Koegelenberg
Hyron Andrews
Jacques Vermeulen
JJ van der Mescht
John-Hubert Meyer
Juan Schoeman
Kerron van Vuuren
Khutha Mchunu
Kwanda Dimaza
Luke Stringer
Michael Meyer
Mzamo Majola
Phepsi Buthelezi
Ruben van Heerden
Tera Mtembu (c)

Aphelele Fassi
Boeta Chamberlain
Cameron Wright
Curwin Bosch
Grant Williams
Ilunga Mukendi
Inny Radebe
Jeremy Ward (c)
JP Pietersen
Kobus van Wyk
Leolin Zas
Louis Schreuder
Lwazi Mvovo
Marius Louw
Muller du Plessis
Murray Koster
Rhyno Smith
Sanele Nohamba